Project Update

chipbag_mill

Tonight I talked with Ryan about milling one of my 3D scans.
Because the surface is pretty detailed, I will probably use foam as my material to cut down on milling time.

I’m very curious to see how these models will translate back into a physical form/ how they will compare to the actual sites and objects that they reference. I plan to mill at least one of the models at a 1:1 scale. If I have time, I am also interested in milling smaller chunks (maybe 6″ x 6″ x 1″ squares) of each 3D model I’ve made to display them as small texture studies.

I’m picking up foam sheets from Home Depot tomorrow and would like to begin milling this Friday or next Monday/Tuesday before break.

screencap_chipbag.png

texture_square_example.png

Leave a Reply

