Intro

krosenbaum_recylingpaper

Over the past semester, I have been creating sculptures with paper pulp, made from found and discarded newspaper. The material interests me as a lo-fi, cost-effective approach to sustainable making. Last semester, I found that this material works best in conjunction with mold-making.

I’d be interested in seeing how paper pulp interacts with some of the tools we have in the fablab (the first two that come to mind are the jimi syringe printer and the cnc.) To begin to introduce this material with these tools, I could possibly create a 3dprintable pulp for the reprap and/or slabs for the cnc.

I have began researching existing projects that involve paper pulp as a material for 3d printing, milling, casting, or any other integration with technology. I hope to post my findings within the next week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

